The International Honorary Council was established to help further the European Academy of Diplomacy’s mission of fostering a new generation of enlightened leaders. Its primary purpose is to provide inspirational and intellectual guidance to the European Academy of Diplomacy, our mission, programs and institutional development. Through the support and assistance of the Honorary Council, the EAD continues to engage the most promising young leaders and prominent academia, diplomats and statesmen.

International Honorary Council members are highly distinguished international leaders who have consistently shown a passionate dedication for working on behalf of a more democratic world, a more united Europe without historical divisions, and the strengthening of trans-Atlantic relations.

Valdas Adamkus

President of Lithuania (1998-2003 and 2004-2009)


Władysław Bartoszewski †

Minister of Foreign Affairs of Poland (1999, 2000 - 2001)


Zbigniew Brzeziński †

National Security Adviser to US President Jimmy Carter (1977-1981)


Jerzy Buzek

Prime Minister of Poland (1997–2001) President of the European Parliament (2009-2012)


Norman Davies

British historian, author of „Europe. A history"


Danuta Hübner

EU Commissioner for Regional Policy (2004-2009), member of European Parliament


President Aleksander Kwaśniewski

President of the Republic of Poland (1995-2005)


Richard Lugar †

Senator of the United States (1977 - 2013)


Micheil Saakaszwili

Prezydent Gruzji (2004 - 2013), Gubernator Odessy (2015 - 2016)


Hanna Suchocka

Prime Minister of Poland (1992 - 1993), Ambassador to the Holy See (2001 - 2013)


Boris Tarasyuk

Minister of Foreign Affairs of Ukraine (1998 - 2000 and 2005 - 2007), Member of the Verkhovna Rada (2002 - 2005, 2006, 2007 - till now)


Vaira Vīķe-Freiberga

President of the Republic of Latvia (1999 – 2007)